Skip to content
SearchLocal help →

People and living standards: Portsmouth

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Portsmouth council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 186,754 in 1991 to 211,475 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Portsmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 189,498 people in 1996; 211,475 people in 2025. 11.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991186,754
1992187,613
1993187,391
1994187,901
1995188,923
1996189,498
1997189,427
1998189,119
1999187,768
2000187,820
2001188,043
2002188,476
2003190,283
2004193,483
2005196,318
2006195,964
2007194,907
2008196,036
2009198,983
2010202,700
2011205,433
2012205,729
2013205,905
2014206,200
2015207,873
2016209,951
2017210,965
2018211,215
2019210,412
2020209,142
2021207,119
2022209,614
2023213,939
2024212,936
2025211,475
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Portsmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,882 people in 1996; 36,746 people in 2025. 0.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199134,249
199235,177
199335,778
199436,194
199536,692
199636,882
199736,989
199837,032
199936,667
200036,374
200136,098
200235,514
200335,220
200434,990
200534,958
200635,226
200735,143
200835,592
200936,193
201036,968
201137,783
201237,610
201337,809
201437,916
201538,283
201638,454
201738,546
201838,437
201937,872
202037,588
202137,172
202237,279
202337,596
202437,495
202536,746
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Portsmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 122,354 people in 1996; 142,122 people in 2025. 16.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991120,746
1992120,961
1993120,516
1994120,826
1995121,619
1996122,354
1997122,572
1998122,647
1999121,936
2000122,613
2001123,306
2002124,676
2003127,074
2004130,899
2005133,968
2006133,666
2007132,801
2008133,512
2009135,762
2010138,461
2011140,091
2012139,632
2013139,152
2014138,872
2015139,989
2016141,673
2017142,386
2018142,485
2019142,008
2020140,878
2021139,002
2022140,977
2023144,732
2024143,315
2025142,122
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Portsmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 30,262 people in 1996; 32,607 people in 2025. 7.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,759
199231,475
199331,097
199430,881
199530,612
199630,262
199729,866
199829,440
199929,165
200028,833
200128,639
200228,286
200327,989
200427,594
200527,392
200627,072
200726,963
200826,932
200927,028
201027,271
201127,559
201228,487
201328,944
201429,412
201529,601
201629,824
201730,033
201830,293
201930,532
202030,676
202130,945
202231,358
202331,611
202432,126
202532,607
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 208,001 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Portsmouth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,3706.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,0703.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,4872.6%
White177,27785.2%
Other ethnic group3,7971.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 205,056 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Portsmouth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White181,18288.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5,4672.7%
Asian/Asian British12,4746.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,7771.8%
Other ethnic group2,1561.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 186,701 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Portsmouth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White176,88294.7%
Mixed1,8591%
Asian/Asian British4,5552.4%
Black/Black British9420.5%
Chinese/Other2,4631.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Portsmouth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,354 per person in 1997; £21,709 per person in 2024. 132.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,354
19989,423
19999,957
200010,693
200110,765
200211,034
200311,129
200411,230
200511,211
200611,441
200712,019
200812,446
200913,071
201012,979
201113,092
201213,278
201313,838
201414,330
201515,307
201615,807
201716,534
201817,102
201917,668
202017,824
202118,542
202219,511
202320,418
202421,709
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Portsmouth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.8% in 1997; -16.4% in 2024. 4.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Portsmouth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.8
1998-13
1999-12
2000-10.2
2001-13
2002-12.8
2003-14.6
2004-17.3
2005-20.3
2006-21.9
2007-21.7
2008-21
2009-18.4
2010-19.6
2011-19.6
2012-21.4
2013-21
2014-20.8
2015-19.5
2016-17.9
2017-16.1
2018-16.2
2019-16.1
2020-15.1
2021-15.1
2022-15
2023-16.5
2024-16.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.2%

21 March 2021 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£251,000

July 2026 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,368

August 2026 · Portsmouth council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.